

## Bringing a community perspective to the Murray–Darling Basin

18 February 2019

## Dear Prime Minister

I write on behalf of the Basin Community Committee – an independent advisory committee of the Murray Darling Basin Authority established under the *Water Act 2007*. Our role under the Act, is to ensure that the Basin Plan pays due regard to the voice of communities from across the Basin. We are 16 people from across the Basin with diverse views and perspectives – and this letter represents our shared view.

We are extremely concerned at the political fracturing that is again undermining the future of our communities. We are writing to you to enlist your support in restoring trust and confidence in the Basin Plan.

The Basin Plan is founded on bipartisanship in our Parliament and is agreed by all Basin states. Our communities need the Plan to work and for all decision makers to stay the course and support the Plan.

We wish to highlight that many communities across the Basin are adjusting and changing their practices – and many families have already made significant investments to support the health of the natural systems that underpin our Basin.

Communities understand that the Basin Plan has an important job to do in bringing the natural system back to balance. It is an adaptive plan focussed on achieving positive outcomes for our environment, our communities and our economy. These outcomes will take generations, not election cycles.

The drought has reignited criticism of the Plan, and State and Federal election cycles are providing a platform for disunity. Dismantling the Plan will not make it rain, and we cannot create water where there is none.

The foundations are in place. The plan needs time to work, and communities need to have confidence that good policy will be allowed to prevail without politics.

The Plan needs communities, leaders, science and local knowledge to all work together in collaboration. Basin families and communities are already hurting with ongoing dry conditions. We need our leaders to stop playing politics with the Plan and support their communities with the implementation of good public policy.

(cont.)

The Basin Community Committee is an independent advisory committee to the Murray–Darling Basin Authority and the Murray–Darling Basin Basin Ministerial Council. Established under the *Water Act 2007,* the Committee ensures the voices of diverse communities in the Basin are heard.



Bringing a community perspective to the Murray–Darling Basin

Now, more than ever, your support is critical to restoring trust and confidence in the Basin Plan.

We need unity, continuity and leadership. We encourage you to stick with the Plan.

Yours faithfully,

## Rory Treweeke Chair (Lower Balonne)

For and on behalf of the Basin Community Committee members:

Phil Duncan Amy Fay Karen Hutchinson Emily Jenke Howard Jones	Gwydir Goulburn-Murray Murrumbidgee Lower Lakes Lower Murray Darling Dubbe (As an Authority member, Susan shore not to participate in the
Susan Madden	Dubbo (As an Authority member, Susan chose not to participate in the development of this letter)
Neil Martinson	Riverland
Katrina Myers	Mid-Murray
Samantha O'Toole	Lower Balonne
Sandra Peckham	Bogan
Joanne Pfeiffer	Lower Lakes
Floyd Robinson	Warrego
Sue Rudd	Sunraysia
David Thurley	Upper Murray
Adrian Weston	Goulburn-Broken

The Basin Community Committee is an independent advisory committee to the Murray–Darling Basin Authority and the Murray–Darling Basin Basin Ministerial Council. Established under the *Water Act 2007,* the Committee ensures the voices of diverse communities in the Basin are heard.