

Bringing a community perspective to the Murray-Darling Basin

COMMUNIQUE

1 August 2019

Basin Community Committee pleads with Ministers to look after communities

The Basin Community Committee met in Canberra this week with a firm intent to keep the focus on people, and on what the future might look like for all people living right across the Murray-Darling Basin.

Ahead of Ministerial Council meeting later this week, we call on Ministers to look after communities.

We urge Ministers both federal and state to consider whole-of-government preparedness for impending emergencies as summer approaches and the drought worsens across the Murray-Darling Basin.

We are already in drought, and the forecast is for weather and rainfall conditions to become more variable and drier this summer.

We urge Ministers to act immediately to provide assistance to regional communities – with a priority on mental health and wellbeing, financial counselling and regional development resilience.

It is urgent that Ministers show strong leadership and collaborate across portfolios to bring to bear the full force of government in supporting Basin communities.

As members of the Committee who live in towns and on farms across the Basin, we see and hear, and are also part of, many communities experiencing extreme hardship. But we also see many *good* things happening across the Basin, and we recognise the long term benefits of the Basin Plan.

We are looking to Ministers to get us through this crisis, to avoid politicking and to show strong leadership across the political landscape to support people living in the Basin.

We plead with Ministers to look after our communities. It's critically important to respond to this unfolding emergency in a whole-of-government way to support communities who are hurting.

People are at the heart of this, and we need to look after them.

The Basin Community Committee is an independent advisory committee to the Murray-Darling Basin Authority and the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council. Established under the *Water Act* 2007, the Committee ensures the voices of diverse communities in the Basin are heard.



Bringing a community perspective to the Murray-Darling Basin

BACKGROUND

Members of the Committee were appointed by the Authority after an extensive selection process involving all Basin governments. They reflect the diverse perspectives of towns and communities across the Basin, as well as the diversity of experiences around water reform. Contact your local Basin Community Committee member via enagement@mdba.gov.au to share your views on how the Basin Plan is being implemented. See more at mdba.gov.au/BCC.

Members include: Rory Treweeke - Chair (Lower Balonne), Phil Duncan (Gwydir), Amy Fay (Goulburn-Murray), Karen Hutchinson (Murrumbidgee), Emily Jenke (Lower Lakes), Howard Jones (Lower Darling), Susan Madden - Authority member (Dubbo), Neil Martinson (Riverland), Katrina Myers (Mid-Murray), Samantha O'Toole (Lower Balonne), Sandra Peckham (Bogan), Jo Pfeiffer (Lower Lakes), Sue Rudd (Sunraysia), David Thurley (Upper Murray), Adrian Weston (Goulburn-Broken).

The Basin Community Committee is an independent advisory committee to the Murray-Darling Basin Authority and the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council. Established under the *Water Act* 2007, the Committee ensures the voices of diverse communities in the Basin are heard.