## Allowable direction of water trades in the southern-connected Murray–Darling Basin

A protocol under schedule D of the Murray–Darling Basin Agreement outlines the allowable trade directions between zones in the southern-connected basin. This is known as the <a href="Permissible Transfer between Trading Zones protocol">Permissible Transfer between Trading Zones protocol</a>. This protocol also outlines any conditions for trade and backtrade between certain trading zones. Please refer to the notes below the table for more information on these conditions.

Item	Column 1	Column 2	Column 3
	For this trading zone	Transfers may be made to these trading zones	Transfers may be made from these trading zones
1	Greater Goulburn (includes Lake Eildon to Goulburn Weir; Goulburn irrigation areas; and Loddon weir pool)	3, 6, 6B, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 4A, 4C, 5A, 13, 14*	4A, 4C, 5A back trade only: 3, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*
3	Lower Goulburn (includes Goulburn River below Goulburn Weir)	6, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 1, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 13, 14*	1, 4A, 4C, 5A back trade only: 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*
4A	Campaspe (includes Lake Eppalock to Waranga Western Channel; and Campaspe District)	1, 3, 4C, 6, 6B, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 5A, 13, 14*	4C back trade only: 1, 3, 5A, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*
4C	Lower Campaspe (includes lower Campaspe River from Waranga Western Channel to Murray River)	1, 3, 4A, 6, 6B, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 5A, 13, 14*	1, 4A, 5A back trade only: 3, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*
5A	Part Loddon (includes Loddon River and Tullaroop Creek; from Cairn Curran and Tullaroop reservoirs to Loddon Weir; and Serpentine Creek system	(conditional) 1, 3, 6, 6B, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 13, 14*	back trade only: 1, 3, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*

## OFFICIAL

	above Bears Lagoon)		
6	Vic Murray above Barmah Choke** (includes River Murray from Lake Hume to Barmah Choke; Mitta Mitta River below Lake Dartmouth; and Murray Valley area)	10 back trade only**: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 7, 11, 12 13, 14*	1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 7, 10, 11, 12, 13
6B	Lower Broken Creek (includes Broken Creek downstream of Katamatite)	6, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 13, 14*	1, 4A, 4C, 5A back trade only: 3, 6**, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13, 14*
7	Vic Murray from Barmah Choke to SA Border (includes Torrumbarry area, Tresco, Nyah, Robinvale, Red Cliffs, Merbein and FMIT irrigation districts)	6, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 13, 14*	1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 11, 12, 13 back trade only**: 6, 10
10	NSW Murray above Barmah Choke (includes River Murray from Lake Hume to Barmah Choke; and Murray Irrigation Ltd areas, including Wakool Irrigation District)	6 back trade only**: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14*	1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6, 6B, 7, 11, 12, 13
11	NSW Murray below Barmah Choke (includes River Murray from Barmah Choke to SA border (including the Edwards/ Wakool system and the Western Murray Irrigation District))	6, 7, 10, 12 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 13, 14*	1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 7, 12, 13 back trade only**: 6, 10

12	South Australian Murray*** (includes River Murray in SA and Trust districts)	6, 7, 10, 11 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 13, 14*	1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 7, 11, 13 back trade only**: 6, 10
13	Murrumbidgee (including Murrumbidgee Irrigation and Colleambally Irrigation areas; Murrumbidgee and Tumut below Burrinjuck and Blowering reservoirs (including Yanko, Colombo and Billabong Creek systems))	6, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 14*	back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 14*
14	Lower Darling* (includes Menindee Lakes and the Darling River downstream of the Menindee Lakes)	6, 7, 10, 11, 12 back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6B, 13	back trade only: 1, 3, 4A, 4C, 5A, 6**, 6B, 7, 10**, 11, 12, 13

Note\* Trade to and from the Lower Darling is subject to section 11 (of the <u>Permissible Transfer between Trading Zones protocol</u>)

Note\*\* Trade through the Barmah Choke is subject to sections 7 to 10 (of the <u>Permissible Transfer</u> between Trading Zones protocol)

Note\*\*\* South Australia is divided into four 'cap valleys.' The three cap valleys from and to which water entitlements and water allocations may be transferred are:

- (a) SA Country Towns
- (b) SA Reclaimed Swamps
- (c) SA All Other Purposes.

Interstate trade also occurs in the northern Basin between the New South Wales and Queensland Border Rivers. Please click here for more information on trade in this region.

## **Backtrade:**

Section 5 (Definitions) of the Permissible Transfer between Trading Zones Protocol define backtrade as: 'A transfer from one trading zone to another trading zone, being a transfer that is no greater in volume than the net volume of preceding transfers between the same trading in the opposite direction and the volume available in the relevant valley account.'

Section 6 (2) (Restrictions on Transfers) of the Permissible Transfer between Trading Zones Protocol specify that if:

- (a) a trading zone specified in column 2 of an item in the table is identified as 'back trade only' then a person may transfer an entitlement (by exchange rate but not by tag trade) or allocation, into the trading zone only from the trading zone described in column 1 of the item by back trade
- (b) a trading zone specified in column 3 of an item in the table is identified as 'back trade only' then a person may transfer an entitlement (by exchange rate but not by tag trade) or allocation, only from the trading zone into the trading zone described in column